The ANU International Relations Society was formed in May of 2004 by Eleonor Geoghegan, a Third Year IR Student, who decided that since there were so many people studying IR (nearly 500 new students each year), we really should have our own Society. Since then, the Society has gone from strength to strength.

We have been privileged to have the support of many of the academic staff at the ANU, being not only members, but great supporters of everything that we do. Most of the IR tutors are also members of our society.

The Patron of the ANU International Relations Society is the Hon Gareth Evans AO, QC. Mr Evans is currently Co-Chair of the International Commission on Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, a joint initiative of the Australian and Japanese Governments. A former Australian Foreign Minister, he is the President Emeritus of the International Crisis Group and an Honorary Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne.

The Society was founded with three main aims:


  • To promote the academic study of International Relations and Politics in the University environment;
  • Facilitate the interaction of International Relations Students with each other in order to support each other, and enhance the learning experience;
  • To give a social setting for those studying International Relations to further the enjoyment of study and allow them to interact with future colleagues and/or employers.


The society advances these aims mainly through its events: lectures, social events, careers fairs; and also through its advocacy within the University.

The Australian National University has a long history of teaching International Relations – and has strong links with leading foreign universities on account of its International Relations programme. Many lecturers and professors at the ANU have had, and continue to have, significant international authority in their own areas of expertise, as well as teaching positions at other world leading universities.

A copy of the Society’s Constitution is available on this site at the following link-ANU-IR-Constitution